Refreshing My Garden Furniture: Part One

Our previous house was rented and had absolutely no outside storage space. Unfortunately this meant that when we decided to buy a table and chair set it was stuck outside, come what may, through rain or shine. We did buy a cover for it but with the wind blowing it around and us eventually getting tired of keep replacing it the inevitable happened…we stopped replacing the furniture cover! Our wooded furniture was left to defend for itself from the elements. This resulted in our dark brown wooden furniture becoming an ugly grey colour.

BEFORE: Garden table and four chairs

BEFORE: Chairs

BEFORE: close-up of the table top

Instead of making do with the table or throwing it away I have decided to paint it blue. I think this will brighten up the garden patio area. Fingers crossed it works.

Materials

To do this I will need to use sandpaper to take the garden furniture back to its original wood. I will then clean up all the dust and coat it with a couple of coats and clear wood preserver. Hopefully this will make it more resilient to the weather. Although it will be stored in the garage, but better safe than sorry. I will then be coating it in the blue wood stain. I cannot wait to see how it turns out. I just hope it looks the same as the idea I have in my head.

Look out for Refreshing my garden furniture – part two for an update in how my garden furniture is looking.

2 thoughts on “Refreshing My Garden Furniture: Part One

  1. Pingback: Refreshing My Garden Furniture – Part Three | House of Huskisson

Leave a Reply

