Refreshing My Garden Furniture – Part Two

I have sanded down my garden table! In true me style I did take on more than I bargained for and about 30 minutes in started wondering what I had gotten myself into. But I was determined to finish sanding the table the very same day. Unfortunately I didn’t get around to doing the chairs because by the time the table was done I was so dusty and achy that the only thing I could even contemplate doing was to stop, get cleaned up and have a cup of tea out in the garden while admiring my handiwork.

So here is the newly sanded garden table in all it’s glory…

Garden table after sanding

I cannot believe how much cleaner it looks but it was hard work though. The sanding paper lasted all of 10 minutes before I gave up and routed around my unpacked boxes for my sander. That worked so much better. If it hadn’t been for my sander I don’t think the table would look anywhere near as good as it does.

Here is a close up of the table top…

Close up of table top

As you can see that although I did manage to get quite a lot of the weathered grey wood off there is still quite a bit left. I have never used exterior wood paint before but I have my fingers crossed that it shouldn’t make too much difference. Has anyone else had experience painting garden furniture? Will the paint cover the grey areas?I guess I might have to just try it and see. A little bit of experimentation never hurt anyone. Now just to do the chairs but hopefully as they are smaller they will be easier…fingers crossed.

Feel free to leave any comments. Any advice would be very much welcomed also. Stay tuned for the next installment of ‘Refreshing My Garden Furniture’.

Leave a Reply

