Dream Office/Craft Room Inspiration

So the fun and games are beginning as we are clearing out the boxes from the second bedroom to begin to turn it into our dream home office/craft room. In preparation for starting to look for decorating materials and furniture I need to decide how I actually want the room to look. The key things are I want it to be clean, organised with possibly white walls and splashes of colour. It also has to function as both a craft room and a home office, so all of my craft stuff has to have a place away from the desk to be stored.

Here is what is looks like. We have done absolutely nothing to it since moving in. Even the curtains we left from the previous owners.

Before: Alcove wall

Before: Wall to the left of the door

Before: Wall to the right of the door

Before: Window wall

Before: Ceiling

They aren’t the best photos because although the room is a decent size it is really tricky to angle the camera to make sure that you get the whole wall. But they give you an idea of what it is like at the moment.

As you can see its really drab, uninspiring and frankly boring. I really hate that there is a rectangle on the floor and wall where they must have had a wardrobe and decided to paint and carpet around it. It isn’t the best space to create the masterpieces in my head.

House To Home

I love the idea of putting shelving into the alcove to create extra storage space. I can imagine it looking lovely with a block of colour or patterned wallpaper inside the alcove to contrast with white walls.

When I saw this home office/craft room I almost drooled. It is amazing and so organised. I love how there are separate workstations for the home office area and the craft room area, with plenty of space around them for storage.

(Pottery Barn)

Whilst browsing storage solutions I came across this little beauty. All of my ribbons, buttons and all of my other paraphernalia that I have seemed to accumulate could be hidden behind lovely clean doors. Oh the possibilities.

Style At Home

Seeing this image made me instantly want to start hunting all second hand shops for a drawer unit of some kind to paint a funky monkey colour and store all of my lovely fabric in. I’m getting excited just thinking about it.

Quant Handmade

This image caught my eye because of the clean white walls and then the splashes of colour in the furniture.

House To Home

I have a lot of jars of ribbons, buttons and more and love the idea of them being close at hand on shelving. I also love the idea of having the ribbon stored on that specially made unit. Something like that would put an end to my ribbon unraveling days for good.

So there we are. Let’s just hope that with a little bit of determination, hard work and little bit of creativity the dream can become a reality.

To see more of my craft room inspiration head on over to my Pinterest  Craft Room Inspiration page.

5 thoughts on “Dream Office/Craft Room Inspiration

  1. I think getting to redecorate or redesign once craft room/sewing room/hobby room or what you want to call it is so great, I also think it’s one of those rooms where you can really play out your own personality, because most of the time you really don’t have to share it with anyone! I love your ideas, makes me wish my sewing room was just a little bit bigger!:)

    Another Blogger asked me a little while ago if I would be interested in making some kind of Blog Chain about our creative work spaces, an idea I find pretty interesting, and I thought maybe you wanted to join in? Not sure exactly when this would happen, I think there are more of us who want’s to finish our rooms before showing them, but it might be a great way of introducing all our blogs together! And I think it would be really interesting to see!

    -Christine

    • That sounds awesome. I’m not quite sure how long it will take to finish but I do intend to show off my craft room once it’s finished. I’ve started stripping off the wallpaper and have picked out the wallpaper I want to replace it with already. Just the hard work of doing it now x

  2. Pingback: Office/Craft Room Colour Scheme | House of Huskisson

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Project List | House of Huskisson

Leave a Reply

