Furniture Finds!

I love eBay! I particularly love eBay when I find an amazing piece of furniture at an amazing price just needing a little bit of care and attention. So on one of my regular eBay searches I came across these lovely gems for the price of £66.00 (that was for both chairs so only £33.00 each).

My New Chairs

What are they doing outside I hear you say. Well, unfortunately at this moment in time we have not made a space for them in our new house (although they will be going into the conservatory) so they are in the garage. However, I have discovered that they make the most brilliant garden chairs. They are ever so comfy and they are lovely to sit on in the warm sunshine with a good book and a glass of something cold. It makes me wonder why I never put ‘proper’ chairs in the garden before, especially because we have space in the garage to store them. Maybe this is a future project idea…

They really are lovely chairs with a beautifully ornate dark wood frame.

I love the Dark wooden frame

Close-up of the back

Close-up of the leg and arm

I brought them for my upholstery course starting in September. This  is my second year studying upholstery and I am really looking forward to learning how to do the deep buttoning on the back of the seat. I cannot wait to get to a stage where I can start choosing fabrics. However, first things first, I need to strip down the chairs to their wooden frame so that I can clean them up and building them up at college again. This won’t be done for a while yet though because I am enjoying using them as garden chairs far too much.

I love these chairs and cannot wait to see them in the conservatory all finished and being used on a daily basis.

5 thoughts on “Furniture Finds!

  1. Pingback: College Projects – Week 2 | House of Huskisson

Leave a Reply

