Statement Staircases

The best thing about owning your own house is that you have full say on how it is decorated. It can be as sensible or as crazy as you want it to be. This has changed the way I have begun to find inspiration when thinking about how I could decorate a room. For example, on Saturday when out shopping I came across this staircase…

Tiled staircase

The photo isn’t great as it was taken on my phone. I just couldn’t lose the opportunity to take a photo to keep as a reminder for when I come to decorate the hallway. I suppose to some people it might have been obvious to use bright or vintage tiles to make the staircase more interesting, but for me I had always assumed the stairs would be carpeted. I had never really thought about doing anything else. In fact I can’t believe I have never thought about it before! I love that each tile is different but that they all tie in due to the colour scheme.

Tiles are not the only way to make a statement staircase. Look at these…

design-ties.blogspot.co.uk

How about using brightly coloured glass?

Or words?

enpundit.com/dream-staircase/

Ever dreamed about sliding down stairs to breakfast? I know I have.

daddytypes.com/2010/01/13/spiral_staircase_slide.php

Wood shavings inside the steps anyone?

How about brightly coloured painted stripes?

 

design-ties.blogspot.co.uk

Or a mosaic? I think this looks absolutely stunning although it’s a little bit too much for our 1930’s house.

blog.the-dot.co.uk/tag/mosaic-staircase/

Now it is just a case of answering this question: how brave am I?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Statement Staircases

  1. I must admit the most adventurous I’d ever thought about being stairwise is having a carpeted runner down the middle rather than having the whole staircase carpeted. I love the tiles and don’t think it’s too over the top, but know Mr M would. I’ll add the slide one to my dream house!

  2. Hi, The staircase ideas are amazing. Having different tiles looks quite good as being of the same color binds them together. Infact, even if you get different colored tiles, you can use mod podge stained in a particular color to give it a uniform look. Nice images

Leave a Reply

