College Projects – Week 2

College has started and so the true housey crafting really begins. On a Tuesday I go to a soft furnishing class. At the moment I am making a sample curtain, which is a mini curtain that teaches you all the skills needed to make a curtain but on a much smaller scale. I am really liking this project because as I learn each new skill in curtain making I am imagining lovely bright red curtains with white spots for the craft room/home office. I am determined to make my own curtains for each of the rooms in the house…fingers crossed.

On a Wednesday it’s my upholstery class and so I have begun to strip down my bargain eBay chairs.

My Chair

Unfortunately this is not the most updated photo but it does give you an idea of how it is going. I now only have the top of the arm take off and a few staples to dig out of the wood. Then I will be able to begin making a template of the back to decide where to put my buttons. This may seem a little early but I need to know this before I can even consider putting my webbing on because the buttons will go in the gaps between the webbing. It makes me excited for next week though because I am sure that once I have taken the last of the arm foam off I will be able to start the fun part…rebuilding it. I will keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

