I’m Back!

Well, I have been running around like a headless chicken recently trying to keep up with college, work, wedding and general housey jobs and that has left very little time for blogging. But as of today I have decided that enough it enough and that I AM going to make more time for blogging and house related crafting/d-i-y-ing because I have missed it immensely!  So here I am!

First up I have a little recap. Can you remember me writing about my bargain lamp find in Debenhams? Well, if you need a little reminder hereis my blog post about it. Today I took a little detour to Dunelm Mill to look at their fabrics, ribbons and other craft related items and I came across a red lampshade on sale for the bargain price of £2.50! Well, my little bargain alarm in my head is beeping at me ten to the dozen and before I know what is happening it has jumped into my basket and I am speeding towards the checkout before I have a change of mind.

My Bargain Lampshade

Well, I don’t think it looks all that bad and when you consider that the base was just £4, making the total cost of the lamp only £6.50 I think it marvellous. Just ignore the side table that it is sitting on. It is a Freecycle find and is one of the many things on my never decreasing to do list. One day it will be a cute little varnished and unmarked table. Hmmmm, maybe that is something I can do at the weekend…

At the weekend I have decided to give myself a little project…well…rather large project really. Having had a really good think about what to do with dresser I have decided to not only move it into the hallway downstairs, but to also do it up somehow.

My dresser

I got it about a year and a half ago from a British Heart Foundation charity shop and it cost me £65 (and that includes the £15 to deliver it to me), which I do not think is half bad. At the time of buying I did like the dark colour but since then I have gone off it. It is just too dark and rather beaten up.

A Rather Deep Scratch

Random cup marks and more scratches

Wood stain has been worn away but the latches

Structurally it is in perfect condition and it completely stable. It just doesn’t look as nice as it could. So I am considering sanding and painting it, however, I am considering leaving the top of it so that it is natural wood. Just like the one below.

Once painted up like this it will not only match the hallway much better but will match pretty much any room in the house should we wish to move it. It will also be perfect for storing my baking equipment, giving me much more space in the kitchen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

